Dee Molenaar: 1918-2020

(Written January 20th)
Dad and Moz: Together again.
Daddy passed away yesterday morning. I guess some part of me felt that if we didn’t announce his death, it wouldn’t be real. I actually found myself going to Dad’s page on Wikipedia to see if a death date was listed, yet – and when it wasn’t listed I figured that meant Dad hadn’t really died – because Wikipedia knows everything, right? (The death date was added within a few hours of my announcement of Dad’s death – making it official, I guess.)

I wasn’t with Dad when he passed – I was walking on the boardwalk in Bellingham. But he was surrounded by the dear care-givers who took him into their home three years ago and loved him as family. Our whole family has been so blessed by the care shown Dad at Cedar Grove. Thank you, Gwen, Amanda, Megan, and Dietrick. I don’t know what we would have done without your love and support the last three years.

I have felt the support and love of you, too. I might go into hiding for a little while – so if you don’t hear from me, please don’t take it personally. It’s just me doing what I do. I love you all – each and every beautiful one of you. Thank you for joining Dad and I on our adventures together the last three years. We couldn’t have asked for better adventure-comrades.

As Dad would say, “Berg heil!”
Karen

Here are some links to stories about Dad –
Here’s a link to my book, Are You Taking Me Home Now?: Adventures with Dad,  chronicling our adventures together in the last few years.
A link to a story about Dad in the Seattle Times.

A link to a story about Dad by Michael Ybarra in Alpinist.
A link to Dad’s obituary in the Skagit Valley Herald.
A link to a story about Dad in the Seattle P-I by Joel Connelly.
A link to a story about Dad in The Mountaineers.
dad-hat-moz-shoes-together-again

Leave a comment